Region’s leading health awards open for entries

Health innovators paving the way for better patient care through transformative technologies or improved service delivery are urged to enter regional awards.

The Bright Ideas in Health Awards, organised by Health Innovation North East and North Cumbria (HI NENC), are open to individuals and teams from across the NHS, including those in primary and secondary care, universities, and regional businesses and organisations working within the health sector. Headline sponsor is the North East and North Cumbria Integrated Care Board.

It’s free to enter and winners will receive a cash prize and support from innovation experts at the HI NENC to progress their ideas.

The submission deadline is 31st July 2024, and finalists will be announced in October. All finalists will be invited to attend the in-person awards ceremony at the Hilton Hotel Newcastle Gateshead in November, where the winners in each category will be revealed.

The ten categories this year are:

  1. Innovative MedTech Award, sponsored by The Centre for Process Innovation (CPI)
  2. Outstanding Industry Collaboration
  3. Innovation in Clinical Education. sponsored by NHSE Education North East and North Cumbria
  4. Demonstrating an Impact upon Patient Safety
  5. Innovation Champion Award
  6. Digital Innovation in Health and Social Care
  7. Towards Net Zero Award
  8. Innovation and Improvement in Reducing Healthcare Inequalities Award
  9. Innovative Women’s Health Award, sponsored by the North East and North Cumbria Integrated Care System
  10. Research for Local Health Needs, sponsored by the Clinical Research Network NENC


Dr Nicola Hutchinson, Chief Executive at HI NENC, said: “The time has come again to call on the region’s innovators to tell us about the health solutions they have developed to ensure patients receive the best possible care.

“The Bright Ideas in Health Awards have long provided a platform for the brightest minds in healthcare to be celebrated and to inspire future innovators. This year we will recognise individuals and teams within the health sector that are pushing the boundaries of innovation across ten categories, including a new award for 2024 focusing on women’s health.

“Entering the awards is easy and free, so please get in touch before the deadline to share your bright ideas.”

The Awards, now in its 19th year, celebrate the achievements of innovators who have risen to the challenge of telling us how, and where, they believe that the services provided to patients can be improved, either through a technical innovation or through better service delivery.

The competition, depending upon the category, is open to businesses, NHS organisations, local authorities and academic institutions in the North East of England and North Cumbria.

The awards are sponsored by Centre for Process Innovation (CPI), NHSE Education North East and North Cumbria, The North East and North Cumbria Integrated Care Board, Sintons LLP, Teesside University, NIHR ARC, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust, North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, Cumbria, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust and NIHR CRN NENC.

The deadline for entering is 31st July 2024. To submit a bright idea, visit: